Fit For A Mom

My ramblings of balancing my passions… fitness, family, & entrepreneurship.

We Are The World 25 Years Later… February 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — fitforamom @ 6:08 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As an avid Olympics fan, I was anxiously anticipating the debut of the remix of “We are the World.” Twenty-five years ago when the original was created, I was 8 years old. I distinctly remember the video and the pictures of Africa. They scared me and I knew in my child mind that I was lucky to be living here in the United States.

Fast forward back to real time. After watching the preview and then racing to You Tube to find the entire song, I sat and watched. I watched numerous times because the meaning of the song is entreanched in societal issues that are so prevalent of our time, even 25 years later. Quite frankly it also has a good beat. My girls were ecstatic because they knew majority of the artists and were dancing around our living room to it. They were partial to the hip-hop section and Justin Bieber. Still I wonder, after the song was finished recording, what else would those artists do? What now? Did it really resonate with them?  I am sure for some it truly did and still for others it was just another publicity event.

Bottom line is that I thought the song was great, although I am partial to the original. I showed my girls the 1985 version and they laughed thinking the artists “looked funny.”  Kids, huh? I really feel old. Most importantly, I think the impact on the greater good was right on target. It is up to all of us to help one another. We are good people at heart and that is the beauty of the human race.

What are your thoughts on the video?

 

Leave a Reply

