Fit For A Mom

My ramblings of balancing my passions… fitness, family, & entrepreneurship.

Work For YOUR Dreams, Not Someone Else’s…So Is The Entrepreneur Life January 20, 2010

I can remember the turning point so vividly in my mind.  A friend of mine recommended this book titled, “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”.  I had heard of it before and decided that I’d give it a read.  Little did I know that it truly would be life changing? Now do not get me wrong here, I know that term is used lightly by many gurus, however, in this case it did create a spark.  A spark somewhere deep down that I never knew existed and quite frankly, did not know how to act on it.

So as most people do, I put the thought out of my head and moved on.  Want to know what the thought was? Working for me.  Initially, it was not for the financial freedom, although I have learned that it is not a bad thing and that with financial freedom comes a great responsibility. Most importantly to give back what has been given to you. No, for me it was two-fold.  One, the flexibility of working for myself and raising my children and two, giving 120% for me.  On the surface that sounds selfish, but let me explain that it is just the opposite.  If I could divert that energy into something that I’m passionate about then I could create my own “wealth”, both freedom and financial.  Only at that stage would I be able to contribute even more good, by giving back MORE good to those who I connect with. That is what it is all about.

I read that book in 2005.  Time passed and those thoughts kept creeping back in my head over and over. I would wake up thinking about it, find myself researching and reading everything that had to do with entrepreneurship. I wanted to surround myself with others like me. Working for someone else just did not make sense anymore. I was consumed by my thoughts.  There were times I wondered what was wrong with me. I then knew that someday I would own my own business. It only took a lay off in the corporate world four years later, to give me the push to really do it.  That was last year.  Ironically, I always thought that if I was ever “laid off” I’d have the time to devote to starting something. I guess now I have to prove it.  Strange how the universe and higher power works.

Currently, I own two brand new businesses.  One is a marketing consulting business which focuses on strategy, communication and social media presence for the wellness and small business sectors.  The other is that I am a distributor for Juice Plus which is a whole-food supplement that has over a 15 year research proven history of excellence.  My passion lies within words and wellness….what better way to meld the two? Oh, I am also working on a book as well regarding overcoming tremendous personal obstacles, but that is for another day and time 🙂

I do not intend to sound “cocky”. I am just the opposite, humble.  What suits me best is “driven”. This is me and I am content, at least for a short time.  I always strive for excellence and I have to remind myself to push past my fears and be patient, it will happen.  The attributes of faith, family, tenacity and pushing my limits (guess the last two are essentially the same, huh?) have proved me well in the past.  So, it is those that I rely on now.  I want to leave a legacy and be the best example that I can be to my children now and in the future. I do not want to leave this earth and be known for mediocracy.

Keep the spark alive and do all you can to ignite it.

 

3 Responses to “Work For YOUR Dreams, Not Someone Else’s…So Is The Entrepreneur Life”

  1. Your story is inspiring to so many. How many of us have had a moment in our life that was a turning point, yet we turned away to play it safe? It took something else to push you to it but divine intervention always plays a role even though most don’t believe it! Keep pursuing your dreams and sharing them with the world. Setting the example that others may follow is what it is all about. Giving to others in a self centered world is very needed, thanks for sharing!

  2. Kristi Says:

    Great post, Jamie, you darn near inspire me! 😉

    No, seriously, I feel exactly your conviction about not working for someone else, and I have to thank God for my great marriage to an awesome husband–we are together pulling this wagon, so I can stay home, and play around with businesses/blogs/writing. etc. and put my family first.

    The part about pushing past your fears and being patient, and not settling for mediocrity – – – I am going to reflect on that.

  3. Cheryl Says:

    I love this post! I launched my own business in June 2009 and I am truly hoping to make a change in my life…. namely, being able to walk away from Corporate America and gain the flexibility I want and need in my life especially with three small children. It’s funny to hear you speak of “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” because my husband reads that, and other similar books, ALL THE TIME. Congrats to you on your business and keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

